South Orangetown Central School District

Tappan Zee High School seniors Kevin Huang, Palak Oza and Yena Shin are 2019 National Merit Scholarship Finalists!

“We’re really proud of what these students have accomplished academically and beyond,” said Principal Dr. Jennifer Amos. “This is another prestigious award in a long line for these students.”

Of the 1.6 million juniors who entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, the 15,000 who scored highest in their state are named Semifinalists at the start of their senior year. To be considered for Finalist status, Semifinalists must submit an application demonstrating leadership and outstanding academic performance and be recommended by a school official. Approximately 50 percent of Finalists ultimately are awarded a National Merit Scholarship.

Congratulations and good luck to Kevin, Palak and Yena!

Three students standing with certificates