South Orangetown Central School District

Congratulations to the 20 Tappan Zee High School student-musicians selected to perform in the 2021 New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Area All-State Festival at the Newburgh Free Academy, November 19-20. Area All-State musicians were chosen from more than 2,000 applicants based on outstanding audition scores from the NYSSMA solo evaluation festival last spring.

The festival features the best student musicians from Greene, Orange, Rockland, Sullivan and Ulster counties. Rehearsals begin on Friday, November 19 and culminate with two concert performances in the afternoon on Saturday, November 20. Ensembles will be led by guest conductors from across the U.S. who are top professionals in the music field.

  • Band: Edward Atristain (Percussion), Christine Chang* (Flute), Vivian Cho (Flute), Ava Clapp (French Horn), Bridget Duffy (Clarinet), Diana Kim* (Oboe), Noah Morley* (Mallet Percussion), Marco Prisco (Trumpet) and Nate Prisco (French Horn).
  • Chorus: Fatima Sabovic (Alto) and Marissa VanSise (Soprano)
  • Orchestra: Griffin Heatley (Bass, not pictured), Henry Huang* (Violin), Justin Johnson (Violin, not pictured), Deanna Jovino (Violin), Kierra Kim (Cello), Emma Pakola (Violin), Calum Tion (Viola), Kobi Steinberg (Bass) and Annamaria Witek (Cello).

*Denotes 2021 NYSSMA All-State Musicians

TZHS 2021 Area All-State Musicians