South Orangetown Central School District

 Tappan Zee High School computer science students Molly Culot, a sophomore, and Kayla Ng, a senior, have been named Hudson Valley Regional Winners of the  National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) 2022 Aspirations in Computing Award! The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC) honors students in grades 9-12 for their computing-related achievements and interests. Junior Caterina O’Keefe earned a Regional Honorable Mention.

Culot is a member of the Computer Science Club, Computer Science Honor Society, and SO BOTZ, the high school’s FIRST Robotics Competition team. She is planning to major in computer science in college.

Ng is a Project Manager of SO BOTZ and a member of Computer Science Honor Society and the Computer Science Club. She will attend Cornell University in the fall, where she will major in computer science. Ng received an NCWIT Regional Honorable Mention in 2021.

O’Keefe is a member of the Engineering Club, Science Honor Society, and Computer Science Honor Society. She has committed to play lacrosse for Boston University (starting in 2023) and intends to major in mechanical engineering and computer science.

Since 2019, six TZHS computer science students have earned NCWIT regional and/or national recognition. Recipients are selected based on interest and achievements in computing and technology, leadership, academic performance, and plans for post-secondary education.

“Kayla, Catie and Molly are exceptional role models for our younger students.  In addition to being high academic achievers, they take on leadership roles in robotics, the Computer Science Honor Society and the Computer Science Club. They help inspire and motivate others to learn about computer science. I am thrilled to see them being recognized by NCWIT for their accomplishments,” said TZHS computer science teacher Karen Connell. Connell also advises the Computer Science Club and Computer Science Honor Society.

Over 3,500 applications were submitted for the 2022 NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing.

Congratulations, Molly, Kayla and Caterina!

NCWIT Winners