South Orangetown Central School District

On November 17, the Tappan Zee Athletics Hall of Fame honored inductees spanning five decades of proud TZ sports history:

  • Frank Rechtorovic (‘57)
  • John Senatore (‘62)
  • Stu Walker (‘63)
  • Larry Rees (‘88)
  • Steve Sutton (‘90)
  • Emily Donovan (‘94)
  • Coach John Lick (Boys Varsity Golf Coach, 1959-1979)
  • 1962 Boys Varsity Basketball Team: Ed Rechtorovic, Jim Talbot, Ken Blauvelt, Bob Hoffman, Jim Hurban, George Coates, Ranieri Rotelli, Jim Speakman, Nick Lund, and managers Joe Kennedy and Anton Winstedt
  • 1962 Boys Varsity Golf Team: Rich Kopac, Bill Louche, Dick Klein, Bill Ciganek, Ranieri Rotelli and Joe Sama

“Our Hall of Famers are role models for all our athletes today,” noted Athletic Director Keith Johnson. “The dedication, drive and selflessness they exhibited on and off the field, court or green, truly reflect the core values of our district’s athletics program.”

Since its founding in 2009, the Tappan Zee Athletics Hall of Fame has honored more than 220 distinguished athletes and coaches. Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis, with an annual submission deadline of March 1. For information, visit the TZ Athletics website.

2018 TZ Athletics Hall of Fame inductees