South Orangetown Central School District

Five years ago, South Orangetown Middle School health education teacher Vickie Shaw and Library Media Specialist Kimberlee Landgraff developed the “Help Card,” a tool for students to decrease the stigma of asking for help. Customized Help Cards and informational videos are created for each of the district’s four schools to encourage students to ask for help. The 2019-20 district-wide campaign launched today, October 7, with video screenings and card distribution in every building.

Parents are encouraged to view the Help Card video with their children and to reinforce that it is OK to ask for help and that there is always someone who will listen. Students who lose their Help Cards can pick up a new card in their school main office or, for middle and high school students, in the counseling office.

Video links and school contacts are listed below, and posted under “Student Resources” section of the For Students page on each school website.

WOS
Help card video: https://video214.com/play/UpFMe3reXa82N0h9h7gfcw/s/dark
Principal Ms. Sheila Beglin | sbeglin@socsd.org | 680-1303
Assistant Principal Ms. Maggie White | mwhite@socsd.org | 680-1325
School Psychologist Mr. Brian Galvin | bgalvin@socsd.org | 680-1324
School Psychologist Ms. Kaitlin McSwiggan | kmcswiggan@socsd.org | 680-1368
School Social Worker Ms. Jessica Inglis | jinglis@socsd.org | 680-1328
School Counselor Ms. Stephanie Mueller | smueller@socsd.org | 680-1354
School Nurse Ms. Riva Fisher, RN | rfisher@socsd.org | 680-1304

CLE
Help card video: https://video214.com/play/47mgjqKjeB1zNOy6Jgnkog/s/dark
Principal Mrs. Karen Ramirez | kramirez@socsd.org | 680-1503
Assistant Principal Mr. Rob Schliessman | rschliessman@socsd.org | 680-1518
School Psychologist Mr. Sean Jones | sjones@socsd.org | 680-1545
School Psychologist Ms. Linda King | lking@socsd.org | 680-1554
School Social Worker Ms. Jessica Inglis | jinglis@socsd.org | 680-1598
School Counselor Ms. Stephanie Mueller | smueller@socsd.org | 680-1598
School Nurse Mrs. Karen Fitzgibbons, RN | kfitzgibbons@socsd.org | 680-1508

SOMS
Help card video: https://video214.com/play/eMGtvQNgMY1DrRqVQi0otw/s/dark
Principal Dr. Chad Corey | ccorey@socsd.org | 680-1101
Assistant Principal Mr. Joe Onativia | jonativia@socsd.org | 680-1102
School Counselor Mr. Philip Farrugia | pfarrugia@socsd.org | 680-1107
School Counselor Mrs. Patricia Iannucci | piannucci@socsd.org | 680-1111
School Counselor Mrs. Siobhan Maiorano | smaiorano@socsd.org | 680-1109
School Psychologist Ms. Courtney Malka | cmalka@socsd.org | 680-1112
School Psychologist Mr. Stephen Sawitsky | ssawitsky@socsd.org | 680-1023
School Social Worker Ms. Jessenia Cursio | jcursio@socsd.org | 680-1028
School Prevention Counselor Ms. Bobbie-Angela Wong | bwong1@socsd.org | 680-1147
School Nurse Mrs. Maggie Keane | mkeane2@socsd.org | 680-1130
School Resource Officer Mr. Andrew Vergine | 680-1777

TZHS
Help card video: https://video214.com/play/poQhZ0fgyrpm8N12xdIJFg/s/dark
Principal Mr. Rudy Arietta | rarietta1@socsd.org | 680-1606
Assistant Principal Ms. Melissa Luciano | mluciano@socsd.org@socsd.org | 680-1650
Assistant Principal Mr. Richard Neidhart | rneidhardt@socsd.org | 680-1655
School Counselor Mr. Randy Altman | raltman@socsd.org | 680-1614
School Counselor Ms. Kelly Keane | kkeane4@socsd.org | 680-1614
School Counselor Mrs. Jaime Holzer | jholzer@socsd.org | 680-1614
School Counselor Ms. Kathryn Marks | kmarks@socsd.org | 680-1614
School Counselor Ms. Glenda Rivera | grivera@socsd.org | 680-1614
School Psychologist Dr. Katelin Burns | kburns@socsd.org | 680-1613
School Psychologist Dr. Bradley Hercman | bhercman@socsd.org | 680-1610
School Social Worker Ms. Jessenia Cursio | jcursio@socsd.org | ​680-1775
School Prevention Counselor Ms. Ponnu Varghese-John | pvarghesejohn@socsd.org | 680-1671
School Nurse Ms. Patricia Shalvey, RN | pshalvey@socsd.org | 680-1647
School Resource Officer Mr. Andrew Vergine | 680-1777