South Orangetown Central School District

Tappan Zee High School congratulates its 22 student-musicians selected to perform in the 2019 New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Area All-State Festival at Suffern High School, November 22-23. The event features the best student musicians from Greene, Orange, Rockland, Sullivan and Ulster counties. Area All-State musicians were chosen from more than 2,000 applicants based on outstanding solo audition scores from NYSSMA solo evaluation festival last spring.

“We’re really proud. This is the largest number of Area All-State musicians we’ve had in years,” said TZHS Music Department Team Leader William Hughes. “Participating and excelling in NYSSMA is what makes students eligible for these types of opportunities.”

Rehearsals begin on Friday, November 22 and culminate with with two concert performances in the afternoon on Saturday, November 23. Ensembles will be led by guest conductors from across the U.S. who are top professionals in the music field.

Congratulations to:

  • Band: Dylan Anderson (French horn), Diana Kim (Oboe) and Peter Wu (Flute)
  • Chorus: Anna Carney (Soprano), Jacob King (Bass), Sarah Mesibov* (Soprano), Delyth Philipps (Alto), Kyaris Rodriguez (Alto), Blair Seaman (Alto), Erin Sweeney (Soprano) and Rebecca Zachariah (Alto)
  • Orchestra: Maya Clapp (Cello), Erin Cunningham (Violin), Darien Esposito (Violin), Henry Huang (Violin), Lois Kim* (Viola), Lauria Martin (Violin), Mia Pakola* (Violin), Isabella Santander (Violin), Adith Vettom (Cello), Jonathan Young (Violin) and Lindsay Zohar (Cello)

*Denotes 2019 NYSSMA All-State Musicians

2019 NYSSMA Area All-State Musicians holding their instruments