South Orangetown Central School District

Tappan Zee High School’s newly-formed chapter of the national Computer Science Honor Society (CSHS) celebrated its first class of inductees, fittingly, with a member-designed website. “We are so excited to recognize this amazing group of students for demonstrating their leadership and sharing their computer science expertise with others in our community,” said CSHS advisor and computer science teacher Karen Connell.

Congratulations to the first-ever TZHS’ CSHS inductees:

Dowland Aiello
Gabrielle Arabe
Frederick Berberich III
Michael Cankosyan
Henry Huang
Casey Kousoulas
Giovanni LoPresti
Dylan McMorrow
Saira Medunjanin
Kayla Ng, Secretary
Caterina O’Keefe
Olivia Steger
Connor Tierney, President
Matt Tobin, Treasurer
Peter Wu, Vice President

Since its founding in 2019, the TZHS CSHS has recruited new members, mentored students in computer science coursework and extracurricular programs and hosted tech-oriented alumni panels to promote college and career exploration. To be eligible for membership, students must have taken at least one semester-long computer science course, earn an 80% minimum grade point average in computer science coursework, complete 10 hours of community service (five hours must be related to computer science), demonstrate leadership and attend meetings regularly.

TZHS CSHS inductees