South Orangetown Central School District

Tappan Zee High School seniors Cate Doyle, Roger Nam and Zachary Sabatini have been recognized as 2023 National Merit Scholarship Commended Students for significant academic achievement based on their performance on the Fall 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“It is a great honor to have three students qualify as National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and we are very proud,” said Principal Rudy Arietta. “This recognition is a tribute to the hard work that Cate, Roger and Zachary have put in throughout their high school careers.”

The National Merit Scholarship Program sends Letters of Commendation to roughly two-thirds of the approximately 50,000 highest scorers–out of 1.5 million entrants–on the PSAT/NMSQT in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named based on a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not advance in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, they become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Seniors Catie O’Keefe, Livia Regina and Matthew Tobin are Tappan Zee High School’s 2023 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists and will advance for Finalist consideration this winter.

Congratulations to all!

TZHS 2023 NMS Commended Students