South Orangetown Central School District

TZHS Principal Rudy Arietta and 2023 NMS Finalists

Congratulations to Tappan Zee High School seniors and 2023 National Merit Scholarship Finalists Catie O’Keefe, Livia Regina and Matthew Tobin!

“Being named Finalists is another well-deserved honor for these three students, who continue to make us proud with all their accomplishments,” said TZHS Principal Rudy Arietta.

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who demonstrate exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The three seniors were among the highest-scorers in New York State on the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and earned Semifinalist status last fall. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

To be considered for Finalist status, Semifinalists must demonstrate outstanding academic performance, be recommended by a school official and submit an essay and scholarship application which includes information about their school and community activities, leadership abilities, employment and recognition earned. The 7,250 Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the pool of Finalists; notification of scholarship winners will begin in March.