South Orangetown Central School District

Students, parents, teachers and school district administrators gathered last week for the annual South Orangetown Middle School You Make a Difference Awards Ceremony! Students and adult volunteers were recognized for their kindness, dedication, and hard work which has had a positive impact on the SOMS community this year.

As honorees’ names were announced, staff members who nominated each award winner read a short summary of their special contributions, using descriptions such as “compassionate,” “hard-working,” “insightful,” “a ray of sunshine” and “self-motivated.” Each honoree was presented with a certificate and a pin from Principal Chad Corey, Ed.D. “Congratulations to all the recipients of this year’s “You Make a Difference” award! This award recognizes good citizenship, leadership, being a positive role model and doing the right thing.  We appreciate all that they do to make SOMS a safe and welcoming environment for all,” said Corey.

Congratulations to the 2023 SOMS You Make a Difference awardees:

Students: Ellery C., Christopher L., Scarlett A., Abram L., Jillian S., Jenna N., London o., Jaden L., Ronit B., Madeline C., Maeve C., Barbara M., Maya M., Leah P., Adelyn Z. Liam C., Kevin F., Cole G., Cole M., Violet S., Lucia B., Marvin M., Valery M., Dayana P., Logan S., Edward Q., Shane L., Owen L., Nicholas B., Fernando G., Melanie R., Alice Y., Emalee K., Jacob K., Daniel B., Grace D., Miranda A., Paul H., Julia K., Emma M., Alanna O., Jasmine P., Dylan S., Abigail W., Isadora N., Timothy A., Alexis A., Liam B., Kaylee B., Kyle B., Emma C., Alyssa C., John D., Aidan D., Sebastian M., Jake M., Jacob P., Savannah R., Ayden S., Cody V., Allison W., Alynne Y., Fion Z., Nayellie L., Ashly P., Romeo B., Keiry P., Anderson S., Justin M., Sante S., Linda F., Paul H., and Jovanni M.

Adult Volunteers: Leslie Laboriel, the SOMS PTA Executive Board and SOMS Career Day Guest Speakers Richard Bertoli, Jessica Brennan, Jeanine Cummins, Christopher Giannetti, Adolfo Godinez, Leon Jacobs, Zakk Karrazzi, Kerry McCarthy, Dennis McNerney, Amy Nowak-Palmerini, Jorli Pena, Rob Schreiber and Adam Sietz.

SOMS You Make a Difference Awards