South Orangetown Central School District

The Tappan Zee High School Mu Alpha Theta Honor Society, the national mathematics honor society, inducted 33 new members and 23 existing members during the annual ceremony on June 1.

Mu Alpha Theta President Matthew T. and Vice President Mati D. kicked off the ceremony before introducing the guest speaker, TZHS Class of 2022 graduate, Henry Huang. He spoke to students about his experience during his first year of college at Harvard University and what he has learned along the way.

Following Henry’s speech, students were led through the official induction led by Mu Alpha Theta secretaries Liyana A. and Vivian C. To be eligible for induction, students must have at least a two-year average of 95 or a three-year average of 90 or greater in their math coursework, perform peer tutoring, engage in service to the school and project work.

After the newest members were inducted, the 2023-2024 Mu Alpha Theta officers were introduced: President Justin J., Vice-President Molly C., Secretaries Caleb A. and Daniel Y. and Treasurer Kate M.

Congratulations to all of the Mu Alpha Theta inductees and new officers!

Mu Alpha Theta Induction