South Orangetown Central School District

SOMS You Make a Difference Awards Ceremony

Students, parents, teachers and school district administrators gathered yesterday morning for the annual South Orangetown Middle School You Make a Difference Awards Ceremony!

Students were recognized for their kindness, positivity and dedication to helping others which has had a positive impact on the SOMS community this year. SOMS Principal Chad Corey, Ed.D. and Assistant Principal Danielle Page, Ed.D. also nominated members of the SOMS PTA Executive Board to thank them for their constant support and community members for volunteering their time during the annual SOMS Career Day.

As honorees’ names were announced, staff members who nominated each award winner read a short summary of their special contributions, using descriptions such as “respectful,” “compassionate,” “role model,” “inclusive,” “resilient” and “a beacon of positivity within the school community.” Each honoree was presented with a certificate and a pin from Corey and Assistant for Pupil Personnel Services Karen Tesik, Ed.D.

Congratulations to the 2024 SOMS You Make a Difference awardees:

Students: Emmett A., Zanda A., Ronit B., Charlee C., Liam C., Joanna C., Liam C., Angel C., Colin D., Sebastian D., Cristian D., Brian D., Cole G., Diane G., Louise G., Rhys J., Adrian L., Madison L., Owen L., Shane L., Matthew M., Erin M., Logan M., Justin M., Valery M., Matthew M., Tara M., Maya M., Anastasia M., Leah P., Dayana P., Clara R., Owen T., Sophia U., Adelyn Z., John A., Luke G., Ayden S., Timothy A., Fiona Z., Brianna D., Fenna Z., Peter A., Madeline C., Juliana E., Kevin F., Peter J., Olivia P., Melody R., Logan S., Gabriel U., Abigail V., Cheyenne D., Artem Z., Ian W., Eldian B., Olivia P., Kevin F., Liv O., Sophia A., Kiana T., Alexia A., Romeo B., Kaylee B., Jacob C., Sarah G., Lilly L., Michael M., Kayden P., Kevin P., Amber U., Gabriel U., Timothy C., Noah K., Olivia K., Isadora N., Josepht R., Heily R., Melanie R., Rahmat C., Ethan A., Emma B., Kyle B., Emily B., Audrey C., Heidi C., Brian D., Ronan D., Finley K., Eleanor L., Daniel L., Ruby M., Maureen O., Liv O., Dilan P., Jasmine P., Colton R. and Kellin S.

Adult Volunteers: SOMS PTA Executive Board and SOMS Career Day guest speakers Guy Ardito, Richard Bautista, Anne Chaly, Mariela Comitini, Terrence Drain, Erik Ellingsen, Curt Epstein, Mathew George, Harold Hilderbrand, Dayna Karafiol, Kate Keller, Edward Lucuara, Barbara Mahady, Tiffany Morrison, Allison Pearl, Ryan Stepanian and Wade Tyree.