South Orangetown Central School District

Students, parents, teachers and school district administrators gathered on Tuesday morning for the annual South Orangetown Middle School You Make a Difference Awards Ceremony! Sixty-six students and seven adult volunteers were recognized for their kindness, dedication, and hard work which has had a positive impact on the SOMS community this year.

 As honorees’ names were announced, staff members who nominated each award winner read a short summary of their special contributions, using descriptions such as “warm-hearted,” “thoughtful,” “diligent,” “a positive role model” and “self-motivated.” Each honoree was presented with a certificate and a pin from Assistant Principal Danielle Rodriguez, Ed.D. and Principal Chad Corey, Ed.D. “Congratulations to all the You Make A Difference Award winners! We appreciate all that you do to make SOMS a special place,” said Corey.

 Congratulations to the 2022 SOMS You Make a Difference awardees:

 Students: Tamara G., Alison L., Brianna D., Katherine R., Ryan O., Kayleen Y., Emily L., Anthony D., Jennifer W., Yaneli A., John C., Noah D., Brody P., Charlotte C., Ella A., Arber B., Magdalena B., Tara C., Kiersten C., Jacob K., DK, Ella S., JS, Katelyn S., Delajla G., Steven G., OM, Angel C., Eve G., Laura E., Lauren M., Kerry M., Jake R., Isadora N., Alynne Y., Gavin G., Sabrina G., Scarlett A., Tara C., Payton L., Brigid L., Madelyn T., Thomas C., Louis C., Adrianna D., Mia D., David H., Brady K., Lucas M., Nicholas M., Emma M., Katelyn M., Jack P., Americo Q., Luca S., Megan T., Bella V., Nina V., Alexandria V., Lukas W., Magdalena B., Kiersten C., Giuliana I., Caroline O., Ella S. and Riley S.

 Adult Volunteers: Patricia O’Prey, Anne O’Brien, Elizabeth Dudley, Tina Albin, Roxana Lupu, Lisa Connolly and Raymond W. DeMeola VFW Post 1615 Chief John Antonucci.

SOMS You Make a Difference