South Orangetown Central School District

Voting Information

The South Orangetown Central School District’s annual school budget vote and Board of Education elections will be held on Tuesday, May 21, 7AM-9PM.  Detailed information is posted on the Budget webpage. Board candidate profiles are posted here.

In order to vote in the upcoming school budget vote and board elections, voters must be registered with the Rockland County Board of Elections or the South Orangetown Central School District. If you are registered but have not voted in a general or school election since 2020, you must re-register. If you are registered but have either moved into the district or moved from one address to another within the district, you must re-register.

It is suggested that residents register to vote online through the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles website at Any qualified voter may also register to vote during regular school business hours, from 8AM to 4PM on days when school is in session (September through June) and from 9AM to 3PM on business days during the summer at the District Clerk’s Office, Administration Building, 160 Van Wyck Road, Blauvelt, by providing proof of District residence.

To be a qualified voter you must be:

  • a US Citizen;
  • at least 18 years old by May 21, 2024;
  • a School District resident for 30 days immediately preceding the vote; and,
  • Registered to vote with the Rockland County Board of Elections OR registered to vote with the School District and having voted in any School District election during the past 4 calendar years.

Early Mail and Absentee Voting

Early mail and absentee ballot applications will be posted here and available from the Office of the District Clerk thirty (30) days prior to the public vote on May 21, 2024: Early Mail Ballot application | Absentee Ballot application.

The completed application must be received by the District Clerk no earlier than thirty (30) days and at least seven (7) days preceding the vote on May 21, 2024, if the early mail or absentee ballot is to be mailed to the voter, or by the day before the vote if the early mail or absentee ballot is to be delivered personally to the voter or their designated agent set forth in the application at the Office of the District Clerk.

Upon receiving a timely application for a mailed early mail ballot or an absentee ballot, the District Clerk will mail the ballot to the address designated on the application by no later than six (6) days before the Annual Election. In order to be canvassed, absentee ballots must be received by the District Clerk no later than 5PM prevailing time on May 21, 2024.

A list of all persons to whom early mail ballots have been issued and a list of all person to whom absentee ballots have been issued, as well as a list of all military voters to whom military ballots have been issued will be available for inspection to qualified voters of the District at the Office of the District Clerk during regular office hours, 9:00AM to 4:00PM, prevailing time, until the day of the Election and Vote. Any qualified voter may file a written challenge of the qualifications of a voter whose name appears on any such list, stating the reasons for the challenge.

Military Voters

Military Voters who are not currently registered to vote may obtain an application to register as a qualified voter of the District and Military Voters who are registered voters of the District may obtain an application for a military ballot by contacting the District Clerk at 160 Van Wyck Road, Blauvelt NY 10913,  (845) 680-1012, or, for the Annual Meeting on May 21, 2024. The Military Voter may indicate their preference for receiving the registration application and/or application for military ballot by mail, by facsimile or email.

The application to register to vote and/or the application for a military ballot must be received by the District Clerk no later than 5:00PM on April 25, 2024. Military ballots will be mailed or otherwise distributed no later than 25 days before the election. Military ballots must be returned by mail or in person and received by the District Clerk by 5:00PM on May 21, 2024.

Polling Locations

District #1: Blauvelt residents
South Orangetown Middle School
160 Van Wyck Road, Blauvelt
**Note: Please enter via the Erie Street parking lot.

District #2: Orangeburg residents
Tappan Zee High School
15 Dutch Hill Road, Orangeburg

District #3: Tappan residents
William O. Schaefer Elementary School
140 Lester Drive, Tappan
**Note: Please park in the rear lot (entrance on Washington Avenue); voters will enter directly into the cafeteria.

District #4: Grandview, Palisades,
Piermont & Sparkill residents
Tappan Zee Education Center
(formerly Tappan Zee Elementary)
561 Route 9W, Piermont


Board of Education
160 Van Wyck Road
Blauvelt, NY 10913

Kathleen Muscari
District Clerk
(845) 680-1012