South Orangetown Central School District

Meet the Board

The communities of the South Orangetown Central School District are served by a five-member Board of Education. Each Board member is elected by a public vote and serves a three-year term without pay. There are no term limits for Board members.

Board responsibilities are outlined on the Board of Education home page.

Board member Steven Finn
Steven Finn, President

A lifelong Blauvelt resident, Finn attended St. Catharine’s Elementary School, is a Tappan Zee High School alumnus and received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Environmental Planning from Binghamton University. He is an environmental services professional with field and corporate experience in safety, emergency hazmat response, confined space entry and waste management. A married father of two William O. Schaefer Elementary School students, Mr. Finn recently stepped away from his career to focus on full-time fatherhood. He appreciates the strong South Orangetown community, is thankful for the many opportunities that our school district provides and looks forward to giving back. In addition to serving on the Board of Education, Mr. Finn was a class parent at his children’s preschool and is a long-time leadership and development mentor volunteer in New York City. He serves on the Board’s Facilities Planning Committee. Mr. Finn’s term expires June 30, 2025.

Board member David Sansone
David Sansone, Vice President


David Sansone is married with two school-aged children who attend South Orangetown public schools (South Orangetown Middle School and Cottage Lane Elementary School) and a preschooler. He possesses over 20 years of combined experience in site protection, counterterrorism and incident command system through his service in the U.S. Navy and current positions in law enforcement and the U.S. Coast Guard Reserve. Mr. Sansone holds a supervisory rank in law enforcement and is responsible for policy oversight, officer development and budgetary management. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Criminology from John Jay College and a master’s degree in Urban Policy and Leadership from Hunter College. Mr. Sansone previously volunteered for six years as an on-call peer counselor for first responders, dedicated to preventing and reducing relationship conflicts, substance abuse, and suicide. He is a member of the Blauvelt Knights of Columbus, the American Legion Post #420, and closely involved with the Rockland GAA. Mr. Sansone joined the Board of Education to further serve his country and community as a conduit between families and the District. He serves on the Board’s District-Wide Safety Team and Policy Committee. Mr. Sansone’s current term expires June 30, 2025.

Board of Education member Katie Gravino
Katie Gravino

Katie Gravino brings over 10 years of experience in the financial sector to the school board, as well as an education background, which includes a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Rider University. Additionally, she often volunteers in our community, including serving as a head coach for OMM soccer and contributing to the district as an active PTA member. Mrs. Gravino and her husband have two young children in the District and moved here several years ago because of their love for the community and the opportunities available for their children. Her motto as a school board member is that “if it is not good enough for my child, it is not good enough for any child.” Mrs. Gravino seeks to support the district’s improvement by solidifying our school security, enhancing parent involvement and engagement, focusing on improving the quality of education and our school ranking nationally, and ensuring fiscal responsibility within the school district. She serves on the Board’s District-Wide Safety Team. Her current term ends June 30, 2026.

Board of Education member Diana Korabel
Diana Korabel

Diana Korabel is a lifelong Rockland County resident with two daughters attending South Orangetown schools. Mrs. Korabel brings almost 20 years of professional public service experience to the board, which includes extensive training in emergency management, mass casualty incident preparedness and public messaging during emergencies. She has received recognition for longtime volunteerism for organizations such as the Nanuet Ambulance Corps, where she served as youth corps advisor, captain and board member. As a Board of Education member, Mrs. Korabel is committed to diligent financial stewardship and fostering an educational environment that promotes all children’s safety, security and academic excellence. She serves on the Board’s Wellness Committee and Curriculum Council. Her current term ends on June 30, 2026.

Dana Stilley, Ph.D.
Dana Stilley, Ph.D.

A lifelong Rockland County resident, Dana Stilley, Ph.D., is a Tappan Zee High School alumna and attended South Orangetown schools from kindergarten through graduation. Dr. Stilley holds a Bachelor of Science in Economics and Applied Mathematics from Brown University, a Master of Business Administration in Finance and Management Science from Columbia University and a Doctor of Philosophy in Community College Leadership from Old Dominion University. Dr. Stilley possesses years of experience in the financial industry, education administration and teaching. In addition to serving on the District’s Board of Education, Dr. Stilley is President of the Rockland Negro Scholarship Fund Board of Directors and a board member for Meals on Wheels of Rockland County and Camp Venture. She and her husband have one son who graduated from Tappan Zee High School in June 2021. She serves on the Board’s Audit Committee/Finance Advisory Council, Policy Committee and Equity Coalition. Her term ends June 30, 2024.


Board of Education
160 Van Wyck Road
Blauvelt, NY 10913

Kathleen Muscari
District Clerk
(845) 680-1012